you're reading...
Addounia TV, Local Media, My Mother, Sami, Sana, Syrian Revolution Journal, Syrian TV

Revolution Journal – August 2011

Revolution Journal – August 2011

Despite my objection and efforts to keep her in Damascus, my mother decided to go to Hama just before Ramadan. The regime started attacking different cities the day before Ramadan forcing a total block on all communications in and out of these cities. Hama, the city the regime hates, was a primary target.

I lost contact with everybody in Hama for more than a week. Some families fled to neighboring towns, but we kept hearing about aid trucks from these towns being targeted by the regime. I wrote about this last year. (here and here)

My brother and I were working on getting my mother to Saudi Arabia, maybe she can avoid being in Syria during Ramadan. They eventually made it to Damascus and then to Saudi Arabia. When she finally came to Damascus, she stayed with me for two nights, and it was then when the longtime dislikes between my uncles and me started to grow.

One night, when my uncles and their wives were there, protesters marched on the streets and we were able to see them from my living room window. We lost electricity, and started to hear gunshots and policemen shouting. My uncle’s wife started watching the police and shabbiha brutality and, to my surprise, started saying, “Yes, kill them! Get rid of them!” Without even noticing I just said, “Shut up you criminal bloody bitch… those are innocent people”. Moments of silence passed before I decided to leave; it was/is inappropriate to ask them to leave, so I just chose to leave and meet with some protesters I knew in my area.

On 11 August 2011, I felt a little bit relieved after my mother finally had left, but I needed to visit my sisters, nephews, and nieces – it had been already 4 months since I have seen them.

Being relieved after ten days of stress and sleep deprivation, I decided to relax a bit for many reasons – I needed some time to get my energy back since the week of incommunicado absorbed all my energy, I needed to decide if I want to take part in evening demos during Ramadan, and I needed to figure out the best way to write for the underground newspaper we were working on. As usual for me in Ramadan, I gained some extra kilos because I started cooking at home and having friends to talk and plan our future participations. For the first time in years, none of us wanted to be seen eating or drinking in public during Ramadan days.

The disagreements between me and my friends escalated at certain points; my best friend was totally pissed off with her fellow Christians who were reluctant to join the revolution side while I was more understanding of their “fears”, all of my friends were calling me pessimistic for not believing in the near fall of the regime, and I had my takes on the best ways to express our non-violent views. However, we all agreed on many more other things. The bright side for me is that our group became 70% LGBT people, which was great for the needed fun, relaxing times.

Some of our friends finally arrived from Hama to tell us exactly how it was possible for the regime to enter the city – they convinced people that they had defected and that they wanted to protect them; “I was standing on the tank holding the Independence Flag when they started shooting people and shelling houses”, a friend told us. They wanted to break Hama once more, but they couldn’t and can’t this time around.

The daily night protests in Ramadan could not rise to be strongly effective in Damascus, even though areas like Midan and Barzeh were at the peak of their protests during Ramadan. People hoped that “Lailat al-Qader” protests, the night of the 26th of Ramadan, would be big and strong enough – they were. The security forces sieged Damascus that night; I was not able to go to the city. They also attacked many mosques in Damascus and arrested many.

Near the end of August/Ramadan, Ali Ferzat, the famous Syrian caricaturist, was attacked in Omawyin (Omayyad) Square. It is opposite to one of the most protected regime’s intelligence buildings in Damascus. The regime and its thugs claimed they had nothing to do with it. (Google Ali Ferzat to find out more)

Just before the Eid, I found out that I had been suffering from scabies. I think I got it from one of the detained friends I met with before. I had to quarantine myself for 4 days for the treatment to avoid spreading the infection around. The problem at that time was that my main 3G broadband connection had not been covering my area for about 2 months. I had to settle for phone calls with my friends just to make sure they were well. I felt almost dead for 5 days. Later, I wished this to have been true because in September, the worst things that eventually forced me to leave Syria started to happen.

Funny Notes:

· Media:
Addounia TV correspondence: A gang in a Lebanese car, without any plate number, were shooting at people in Homs. (Seriously! Lebanese?)
Syrian News Channel: Two police officers were killed in three different cities. (How is that possible?)
Syrian TV: Terrorists in Deir Ezzor were armed with old traditional advanced weapons. (OK old or advanced?)

· Apple:
Late July 2011, Apple announced the Lion OS. The term “Operating System” in Arabic has the same word for “the regime”, and as you all know “Assad” actually means “lion”.
We found this article which could be understood in Arabic like this:

Assad Regime (Lion OS) will be available on USB at Apple’s App Store
If you do not wish to download the great Assad Regime (Lion OS), which is around 4GB, because of your slow internet connection, you will be able to buy the USB with the new Assad Regime. Apple made it available on USB instead of CD’s.
The USB will be available at the beginning of August for 69$.

Moreover, hovering on the download link will come up with this: “Assad (Lion) is here! Available at the App Store”

We tried to start using this terminology in our messages and phone calls but it never worked because most of my friends were not computer savvy anyway. 😦

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Revolution Journal – September 2011 « Sami Hamwi - 25/05/2012

  2. Pingback: Revolution Journal – October 2011 « Sami Hamwi - 27/05/2012

Leave a Reply

Tip Box!

Working solely on tips!

CC

Creative Commons License

Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at SyrianGayGuy@gmail.com.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

BDS

Sami’s Archives

